After promising ourselves at the beginning of summer that our Sundays would be dedicated to adventuring, this is only the second time Taylor and I have managed to steal a weekend to ourselves. Tomorrow Taylor embarks on a three week juice cleanse, so we decided to enjoy a last meal of sorts and ventured over to The Ivy Café in Richmond. Taylor’s sister had previously recommended it to us after having gone herself for afternoon tea, so we decided to give it a go and book a table for 1ish for a spot of lunch.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
P.S. Can we all just appreciate how gorgeous that Red Setter is?

Now, anyone who knows me will tell you that I am a mission to impress when I go to a  restaurant. If even the slightest thing is off, I’ll be pissed off for the rest of the meal and resent paying the extortionate fee they try to charge you for a substandard experience. My BIGGEST bugbear is the waiting staff, I HAVE TO LIKE MY WAITER – otherwise I am the worst customer you’ll ever experience! I think it’s only fair that if I am paying £80+ per person, then I enjoy the meal and am not treated like an inconvenience? Well, you will all be pleased to hear that the waitress was adorable, couldn’t have done enough for us and greeted us with a chirpy “And here we are!”.

Processed with VSCO with a7 preset
A ‘Richmond Collins’ – Vodka, Cucumber, Lime, Cider, Elderflower & Apple Juice

Most importantly, the food. The food was amazing and we went all out, especially because like I said it was Taylor’s last solid meal for 3 weeks! I decided on Smoked Salmon, Grilled Halloumi with Fregola & Tenderstem Broccoli and to finish I went with Lemon & Basil Baked Alaska. I know my recommendations mean nothing, but I would definitely tell anyone to come here if they have the time. It would even be nice to just rock up and have a coffee in? The inside is beautiful and the atmosphere was buzzing, not stuffy or pretentious at all which is definitely a risk when going to these places.

Processed with VSCO with c3 preset
Lemon Baked Alaska – Lemon Sponge, Lemon Sorbet, Meringue, Lemon Curd & Basil

Hopefully I will be back with another Adventure Sunday soon, however it may not be a food based one considering that would be so cruel to Taylor!

Laters

 

Olly x

 

Leave a Reply

