The time to prepare for my week ahead has arrived once again; and with a manic schedule ahead of me I finally decided to give myself a break and be organised for once. Now having been on my ‘fitness journey’ for about three weeks, I am beginning to see that cardio is becoming less of a chore and running 5k a day is really helping my fitness. However, my diet is a lot to be desired – especially if I want to start leaning up ready for Dubai! I was speaking to a friend and she said that a high veg/low carb meal pan would work best for me, seeing as I am a 6ft 4″ man that is still growing! Alas £30 later and all the ingredients I could ever need for the week, I began to prepare my meals.

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset
I find cooking en mass to be so much easier and ultimately less time consuming!

Having considered my schedule, I decided that it was only necessary to cook 4 lunches and 4 dinners seeing and by the time I had gotten home I’d already missed lunch; and I will be missing dinner on Friday as I have a family dinner (Also, I have like no storage space or Tupperware to hold this mahoosive amount of food). Anyway, I went for Salmon and Chicken as my main sources of protein, wholegrain rice and quinoa as my Carbohydrate and a vast array of vegetables to stop the meals becoming boring and bland [Ingredient details below].

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset
“Ensure to drain the water and oils from the cooked chicken, otherwise it’ll start to boil”

Processed with VSCO with a8 preset

I must admit I am only human and I have an undeniable addiction to chocolate. So, instead of trying and ultimately failing to cut it out completely straight away, I opted for a slightly healthier option that would give me my sugar fix just with less of the guilt. This is where I discovered a revolution, DARK CHOCOLATE. The recipe I used, referred to it as ‘Superfood Bark’, it is basically melted dark chocolate with dried cranberries, apricots and cashews sprinkled on top; and may I say it is out of this world.

Processed with VSCO with a9 preset
Steamed Salmon w/ Rosemary and Lemon, Wholegrain Rice & Quinoa, Roasted Bell Peppers, Pak Choi and Spinach | Superfood Bark
Processed with VSCO with a7 preset
Grilled Chicken Breast w/ Thyme and Lemon, Wholegrain Rice & Quinoa, Beans, Broccoli and Baby Spinach 

I am not going to lie, I have really impressed myself with both this meal prep and this post! I just need to stick to the meals and make sure I get my 2 litres of water a day. Sticking with the exercise will probably help shift my belly too!

Laters

 

Olly x

Leave a comment